John Mayer’s “The Search for Everything” Wave One

Let’s have a casual talk about my man crush forever who just released an EP last week: John Clayton Mayer.

After years of waiting, Mayer finally let us hear something new from him: The Search for Everything Wave One. The concept of this album is unique, it’s partitioned into several waves. On his Facebook official page, he said that, “The album will be released four songs at a time. Every month. There were too many songs to ever get out the door at once.”

16105933_10154920143386252_6694904984593990245_n
Source

When I first read that he’d release the album by the piece, I was indeed thwarted. I mean, we’ve been waiting for years and all you do is teasing us by not releasing it as the whole album. Little did I know that his decision to not release everything at once is the most correct way. Because who could handle too much excitement at once?

The first wave was out on Jan 20—it got me speechless and excited and every other emotions I cannot put into words. He makes us wait for years and he gives us what can be called as masterpiece in return. Damn, I love this guy. John never ceases to amaze us. I love him.

This EP consists of 4 songs: Moving On and Getting Over, Changing, Love on the Weekend, and You’re Gonna Live Forever in Me. Let me give my two cents. Disclaimer: I am an amateur, I understand nothing about music. This is just my short review as a listener and a fan (might be biased).

photo-1-28-17-10-39-03-am

1. Moving On and Getting Over

Tell me I can have the fact you’ve loved me to hold onto
Tell me I can keep the door cracked open, to let light through
For all my running, I can understand
I’m one text away from being back again

The first track of TSFE Wave One is rather cheerful songs about someone who has been moving on but not getting over it. I love the vibe of this song, especially the staccato (I suppose that’s the exact term) “But I still can’t seem to get you off my mind” part. That hook never fails to make me feel like swaying. I guess that’s the catchiest part of the song which everyone can’t get it off their mind.

See a footage of him dancing to this song:

2. Changing

Some of us stopped running
Some of us went home
Some of us don’t got one
So we’ll build one of our own

If I’m not mistaken, John once leaked a little part of this song on his Instagram or Snapchat (I’m not sure) thus this one is not that new for me. Honestly this one is my least favorite song on this EP. Nemmine, it’s still good tho because DUDE, IT’S JOHN FRIKKIN MAYER.

3. Love on the Weekend

And I’ll be dreamin’ of the next time we can go
Into another seratonin overflow
Love on the weekend
Love on the weekend
I’m busted up but I’m loving every minute of it

I will write nothing here because I’ve written a long ass post about this song months ago here: Serotonin Overflow. Just check it.

4. You’re Gonna Live Forever in Me

Life is full of sweet mistakes
And love’s an honest one to make
Time leaves no fruit on the tree

Before talking about the song let me share a funny story about this one. I had an argument against my sister after she told me that this song was made for Taylor Swift just because the title is similar to Tay and Zayn’s latest single “I Don’t Wanna Live Forever”. Duh, gurl, u thought???

You’re Gonna Live Forever in me is my most favorite. I instantly fall in love at the first hear (what). The intro is just beautiful and it gets me at: A great big bang and dinosaurs / Fiery raining meteors. John’s voice is so good on this one, it chills me to the core.

The Search for Everything Wave One is that kind of artwork that was made not only for money or fame, but also for his own self-satisfaction and for us. It can be seen on his tweets. I love him so much, have I told you yet?

photo-1-28-17-10-40-16-am

Let’s download this EP and support John Mayer!

Leave a Reply

